Fruit Tart Fiasco

So… my first cream pie experimental success (sort of)!

Let me be clear:  the finished product was (in my humble opinion – and others’) DELISH.  But it was also, quite definitively, NOT the cream PIE I had planned and hoped it would be.

Ok, so I forgot to take pretty pictures of the finished product... but half eaten is a good indicator of its scrumdidileeumptiousness ;)
Ok, so I forgot to take pretty pictures of the finished product… but half eaten is a good indicator of its scrumdidileeumptiousness 😉

Let’s start out by saying I had WANTED to create a banana cream pie from scratch.  Not quite as homey-home-made as with a crust made from flour and cut-in cold butter and baked and cooled and all that (that’s not really my cup of tea, unless it’s a very special occasion and I’m finding myself in a much more patient than usual mood that day); this was the “cheating” home-made crust, the ground-up graham cracker mixed with butter and a little sugar until it sticks to the bottom of your pie tin kind.  EXCEPT I did one (two?) better, and added not only crumbled up graham crackers, but crumbled up Nilla wafers AND crumbled up almond windmill cookies (the end-result of this wildly innovative home-made crust of mine:  fabulously delicious).  To be honest, I wanted to clear out the pantry – lazy baker am I?  Oh yes.

The cream filling is, alas, where I lost my way.  It was the REALLY home-made cream pie kind of cream, the kind where you have to separate the egg yolks from the egg whites and whisk them mercilessly with milk over heat (or milk heated first and then yolks whisked in over the heat, or yolks heated first – oh I don’t know and I DON’T CARE!  IT’S TOO MUCH FOR A STUPID CREAM PIE!).  If there’s one thing I cannot get the hang of when it comes to baking, it’s WHISKING.  I can chaturanga with the best of them all day, but have me whisk something for five minutes, and my forearms turn to jelly.  Pathetic.

So… I whisked.  And whisked.  And tried REALLY REALLY hard to turn the lumpy yellowy mass into something fluffy and delightful, if not at least just a little appetizing, and put it in the fridge to “set” for the next two (five, eight?  Who cares anymore) hours.  Of course, nothing “set.”  It was just as unappetizing (in sight as well as taste) when I checked it the required amount of time later.

So, what’s a girl to do?  A delectable graham/wafer/cookie pie crust, with no pie filling?  Unacceptable!  I took stock of what supplies were available:  a carton of plain Greek yogurt, powdered sugar, bananas, and blueberries.  Solution:  I mixed the carton of plain Greek, powdered sugar, and bananas (in a big bowl with a big spoon, if you’d like to know, very sophisticated baking was happening this day), poured the new mixture into my prepared crust, and topped with the fresh blueberries – voila!  Banana cream pie saved, albeit transformed into more of a fruit tart along the way.

Nothing like fresh (and seasonal!) fruit for topping
Nothing like fresh (and seasonal!) fruit for topping

Moral of the story?  When life gives you crappy cream filling, make a fruit tart instead.

Banana Blueberry Tart

For the crust:

  • 1 cup ground-up graham crackers
  • 1/2 cup ground-up Nilla wafers and/or almond windmill cookies and/or your own experimental cookie
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 6 Tbs melted butter

-Use a blender (or food processor, or mortar and pestle, or whatever your choice of grinding implement) to grind up the graham crackers and cookies; mix together with sugar and melted butter, then press firmly into your pie tin (fish- or otherwise-shaped).  I like to make sure the crust goes up the sides to hold in all the filling, and I prefer it thicker, so if you have a few extra cookies to get rid of, keep grinding away!  Some people stop here and put it in the fridge to firm up, I baked mine in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 degrees first.  Follow your instinct.

For the filling:

  • 1 quart plain greek yogurt (I prefer Oikos brand, it’s usually thicker)
  • 3 diced bananas (or 2, or 4, depends how much you like them or how many you’ve got at the time)
  • 1/2-1 cup powdered sugar (would probably use honey next time, if I’d had it I definitely would have – you know what, use honey, let’s be healthy people)
  • as many fresh blueberries as you want

-Mix together the yogurt, diced (or sliced, or ninja-chopped) bananas, and honey (NOT powdered sugar – who mentioned powdered sugar?), and pour into your prepared crust.  Top with fresh blueberries (or more bananas, or some other fruit if you’d like), and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fruit Tart Fiasco

  1. Biggest sister

    I’m sorry I’m to far away to help you whisk! You really aren’t very good at it….you never stood a chance against those yolks. But I’m glad you still made something delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

