HEALTHY COOKIE SUCCESS!!!

Thank you thank you to this gem of a recipe, which I only slightly tweaked before using it to create what I consider to be a truly healthy-yet-still-delicious cookie:  http://www.chelseasmessyapron.com/flourless-healthy-pumpkin-chocolate-chip-cookies/#_a5y_p=2432635

Why do I say they are healthy?  They are flourless (though I am not one, you gluten haters may rejoice!), they are butterless (a moderate amount of healthy fat in your diet notwithstanding, a treat with less butter than too much is fantabulous in my book), and they are white-sugarless (ahhh, where’s the catch??).

For the die-hard no sugar-people out there, there are a whopping TWO TABLESPOONS of brown sugar in these puppies – that’s it!  The rest of the “sweet” in these cookies comes from honey and pureed pumpkin.  For me, I’m less about calorie-counting than I am about clean, whole-food eating, so I just might try swapping out that brown sugar for honey next time around and call it a day.

For those of you butter-loving, treating-yourself-to-sugar-once-in-a-while-because-hey-that’s-why-it’s-called-a-treat-you-crazy-health-nut nuts out there, I stand by this cookie as a delicious treat, whether you go all out processed-sugar-free or no, or whether you say screw me and add all the butter and flour back in.  For those of you who like playing around with healthier alternatives (does that mean we can enjoy more treats more often?  Jussayin), here’s the recipe as I made it:

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar (or maple syrup or honey or coconut sugar… additional notes to come…)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon clove
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger (these last four spices I use in place of pumpkin pie spice, or at least cinnamon and nutmeg in addition to)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cup oat flour (I just blend oats in my handy-dandy Magic Bullet; also, I adjust the flour based on high-altitude baking, so depending on your taste you can use a little less or a little more)
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or other types of chocolate chips or chunks, or nuts, or maybe even coconut – go crazy!)
  1. Beat together the wet ingredients and brown sugar.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix the oat flour and spices.
  3. Mix it all together, adding chocolate chips in last.
  4. Chill dough for 20-30 minutes, before plopping on a cookie tray with a spoon and baking at 350 degrees for 7-8 minutes.*

*It’s hard to tell when these cookies are “done” in the traditional sense, since they are going to be soft and moist, instead of crisp or crunchy; they will taste great after 8 minutes in the oven, don’t worry!

This recipe is tested and approved not only by myself, but by my pumpkin-loving boyfriend, my sister, and her “those-cookies-look-too-healthy-for-me,” butter-loving fiance.  Seriously, make them, eat them, enjoy them – then tell your friends to do the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

